Dream Factory By: Brad Barkley and Heather Hepler

Dream Factory

Synopsis from BarnesandNoble.com:

When the Disney World character actors go on strike, teens are hired as replacements. Ella is assigned the role of Cinderella simply because the shoes fit. And every afternoon at three o’clock she gets married to Prince Charming. A perfect dream come true-except Ella doesn’t believe in dreams anymore. Meanwhile, Luke is one of the fur characters (Dale, the chipmunk), and his girlfriend, Cassie, plays his counterpart, Chip. Cassie is perfect in every way, so why does Luke want to be with Cinderella? Then Luke and Ella are brought together during a scavenger hunt, and as they uncover the Magic Kingdom’s hidden treasures, they discover an undeniable magic between them. Perhaps dreams really can come true after all?

I am very, very big Disney Fan. I love the movies, characters and the magic of Disney World. This is why I felt pretty obligated to read this book when I saw it online. I couldn’t resist! When I started reading this book I went into it with a relatively clear mind because from the synopsis it sounded like a cute and even cheesy book, which I don’t really mind at all sometimes. At first I enjoyed the ‘behind the scenes’ of the characters in the story doing their job of being the people that dress up and act as the characters at Disney World. But, as the book went on I disliked the story more and more. It seemed like I couldn’t get a clear picture of both the characters and the actions happening in the story. Everything jumped around too much without any clear detail to guide the reader along within the story. Also, as much as I tried, I couldn’t like the characters. True, a few made me laugh at times or I could share in some of their emotions, but most of the time I was just really irritated with them. They seemed unrealistic and I couldn’t really connect with any of them. The ‘growing’ love interest between the two main characters frustrated me the most because it didn’t move along, like AT ALL! Overall, I felt that the book was dragged on too much and the authors were trying to make it more of a ‘deep’ story than the original idea was supposed to be. Sadly, I couldn’t bring myself to give this book any more than a 1.5 (maybe 1) out of 5 stars.

Leave a comment