The Summer I Turned Pretty By: Jenny Han

The Summer I Turned Pretty

Synopsis from Barnes&Noble.com:

Some summers are just destined to be pretty

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer — they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

This is the first book in a trilogy. I finally decided to pick up this first book because I have heard really good things about the trilogy as a whole and I was really in the mood for a summer-y read. And, I have to say that my expectations were met throughout the book. It was such an easy, quick, and enjoyable read and I found myself smiling at all the sweet moments in the book. The main character, Belly was very relatable and made the story interesting and worth reading. Her character was so real and true to life that it made the story all the better. Though, sometimes, I felt that Belly acted a bit immaturely for her age in certain situations. But, although sometimes a little annoying, it did add to Belly’s character’s “realness”. As for the other characters, I applaud Jenny Han for making them all so common like people really are, but still unique from any other book’s characters that I’ve read. I easily gave this book a 5 out of 5 stars, and I look forward to reading the other two books in this trilogy.

Leave a comment