Rebel Belle By: Rachel Hawkins (Rebel Belle Series #1)

Rebel Belle

Synopsis from Barnes&Noble.com:

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts. Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

When I started to read this book, I instantly fell in love with everything about it. It was so much fun to read! I loved the author’s writing style and the way both the action and humor, especially in the beginning of the story, tied together wonderfully. Throughout the story I found myself laughing out loud at some points as I flew through the pages. The amusing style only added to the story in a good way. Next, I have to say I loved the main character, Harper. She was hilarious and I loved how she dealt with the situations that she was forced into. I also liked how much her character developed throughout the story. She started out being a prissy, homecoming queen, and ended up becoming an amazing girl with a relatable and engaging personality. To continue, I loved the beginning of the story and I also loved the end and the subtle, but interesting twist presented. But, I have to say I only just liked the middle of the story. It was a bit slow at times and I wish that the author had thrown more into the story to give it a little bit of the kick that it needed, like the beginning and end of the book. But, overall I still had a ton of fun reading this book and gave it a 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend it to anyone that wants a light read that still has interesting action and humor mixed in.

Leave a comment